Looking back on 2011 – if I had to do it again…

It’s such a cliché but I can’t believe the year is almost over. 

But I don’t have any regrets because life is too short for that.  However, I do have a few things I would like to do again – or maybe just do a little differently.

Books and more books at Voltaire in West End GlasgowI’d visit the second hand bookshops in the West End alone – without my children.  I’d lose myself in the reams and reams of books escaping into a million different worlds – all without any worry of what’s for tea.  I’d breathe it all in and hunt for favourite books from my youth.  And all these wonderful rediscoveries would unfold at my leisure – not at the pressing pace of my restless sons.

I’d have dinner at Persia – and this time you can be sure I’d order that succulent delicious lamb, and of course the dolma.  My mouth waters  just thinking about it.   In fact I really want to go right now; the thought is making me hungry.    I would try and avoid the pit stop on the way home though; rescuing two large ladies in one year would be tempting fate I think.

Roller Girls in GlasgowAnd I’d return to the Roller Derby.  Now that I know the rules I’d cheer and yell in the right places.  I’d pick a home team to root for; watch them move up and down the ranks.  And the next time round of course I’d being wearing the right clothes. 

In fact I have a temporary tattoo ready along with an assortment of badges – though I’m afraid the sparkling hot pants are a step too far for me – even in a shiny new year.

What are you going to be doing in 2012?

– B

Leave a Reply

